Enforcement

Melville Father and Son Arrested For Night Hunting Violations

Release Date: 01/18/2019

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents arrested two Melville men on Jan. 12 for alleged deer hunting violations in St. Landry Parish.

Agents arrested Virgil Duvall, 58, and Kendell Duvall, 38, for hunting deer during illegal hours, hunting deer from a public road, hunting deer from a moving vehicle, illegal spotlighting from a public road, discharging a firearm from a public road and intentional littering.

Agents were on patrol in the Palmetto area when they observed the subjects actively hunting from their vehicle using spotlights while traveling down a public roadway.  Agents then witnessed the subjects shoot a .22 caliber rifle at a deer from the public roadway.

After making contact with the men, agents also found out that they tossed an aluminum can onto the shoulder of the road to mark their location.

Hunting deer during illegal hours brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Hunting deer from a public road and taking deer from a moving vehicle each brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail for each offense.  Discharging a firearm from a public road brings up to a $50 fine and 30 days in jail. Illegal spotlighting from a public road brings up to a $175 fine and 30 days in jail.  Intentional Littering brings up to a $500 fine and eight hours of community service in a litter abatement work program.

Mississippi Men Cited for Deer Hunting Violations

Release Date: 01/18/2019

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited two Mississippi men for alleged deer hunting violations on Jan. 14 in Madison Parish.

Agents cited Brennen Parham, 20, and Jeremy Richter, 22, both of Vicksburk, Miss., for hunting deer during illegal hours, hunting deer from a moving vehicle, and hunting deer from a public road.

Agents were on patrol near the Mississippi River Levee around 8 p.m. when they observed a vehicle traveling on the levee and shinning a spotlight from both the passenger and driver’s side windows.

Agents witnessed the men spotlight a doe and shoot it from the passenger side of the vehicle.  Agents approached the vehicle and made contact Richter, who was in the driver’s seat, and Parham, who was dragging the doe back to the vehicle.

Agents seized the deer and a .22 rifle.

Hunting deer during illegal hours brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Hunting deer from a public road and hunting from a moving vehicle each carries a $100 to $350 fine and up to 30 days in jail.

The men may also face civil restitution totaling up to $1,624 for the replacement value of the illegally taken deer.

Lake Providence Couple Cited with Illegal Night Hunting Violations

Release Date: 01/15/2019

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited a Lake Providence couple on Jan. 12 for alleged deer hunting violations.

Agents cited Dion Burrell, 35, and Jessica Burrell, 32, for hunting deer during illegal hours, hunting from a public road and hunting from a moving vehicle.

Agents were on patrol in East Carrol Parish at night when they found a parked vehicle.  Agents setup surveillance on the vehicle and shortly thereafter observed the passenger shoot at a deer from the vehicle.  Agents then made contact with the Burrell’s who were both inside the vehicle.

Agents found several rounds of ammunition on the floorboard of the vehicle and the rifle still in the fire position.  Agents seized the rifle.

Hunting deer during illegal hours brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Hunting deer from a public road and hunting deer from a moving vehicle each brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail for each offense.

Agents Cite Three Men for Deer Hunting Violations in St. Martin Parish

Release Date: 01/15/2019

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited three Louisiana men for alleged deer hunting violations on Jan. 11 in St. Martin Parish.

Agents cited Fabian Cavalier Jr., 20, and Jared Blanchard, 20, both of Pierre Part, for hunting deer during illegal hours, taking illegal deer during an open season, hunting deer from a boat, intentional concealment of illegal wildlife, hunting without basic and big game hunting licenses, and failing to comply with deer tagging requirements.

Hunter Gros, 19, of Morgan City, was cited for allowing another person to use his hunting license.  Cavalier Jr. was additionally cited for using another person’s hunting license.

Agents received a tip that two people were hunting deer at night off the Belle River.  Agents were able to make contact with Cavalier Jr. and Blanchard on the morning of Jan. 11 at a residence where they found blood and deer hair in a vessel on the property.

During questioning, Cavalier Jr. and Blanchard admitted to harvesting two antlerless deer around 9 p.m. on Jan. 10.  Agents located the two antlerless deer hidden in a wooded area near the residence.

Agents also observed the heads of two freshly harvested antlered deer laying on the ground.  Cavalier admitted that he harvested the bucks two weeks prior.  Agents were able to confirm that neither Cavalier nor Blanchard possessed the required hunting licenses or tags to harvest the deer.  Gros and Cavalier admitted that Cavalier used Gros’ tags and hunting license when taking the two antlered deer.

Hunting deer during illegal hours and intentional concealment of wildlife each brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail for each offense.  Taking illegal deer during an open season carries a $500 to $750 fine and 15 to 30 days in jail.  Allowing another person to use a hunting license and using another person’s hunting license each bring a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail.  Hunting deer from a boat and failing to comply with deer tagging requirements each brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 30 days in jail for each offense.  Hunting without basic and big game hunting licenses each carries up to a $50 fine and 15 days in jail.

Cavalier Jr. may also face civil restitution totaling up to $5,691 for the replacement value of the illegally taken deer.  Blanchard may also face civil restitution totaling up to $1,624.

Two Coushatta Men Arrested for Deer Hunting Violations and Trespassing

Release Date: 01/11/2019

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents arrested two Coushatta men for alleged deer hunting violations on Dec. 21 in Desoto Parish.

Agents arrested Phillip L. Morgan, 35, and Phillip M. Morgan, 60, for possession of an illegally taken deer, failure to wear hunter orange and criminal trespassing.

LDWF agents received multiple complaints of people criminal trespassing on the Dolet Hills Mining Company property in Red River and Desoto Parishes.  Agents setup surveillance on the property and came into contact with the subjects on Dec. 14.

Through the investigation, agents determined the men were deer hunting on the property without permission, not wearing hunter orange and in possession of an illegally taken nine-point deer.

Agents with the cooperation of the Dolet Hills Mining Company were able to obtain arrest warrants.  On Dec. 21, agents arrested the men, and booked them into the Desoto Parish Detention Center.

Possessesion of an illegally taken deer brings a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Failing to wear hunter orange carries up to a $50 fine and 15 days in jail.  Criminal trespassing brings a $100 to $500 fine and up to 30 days in jail.

The men may also face civil restitution totaling up to $2,033 for the replacement value of the illegally taken deer.

Agents Cite Three Theriot Subjects for Illegal Oystering

Release Date: 01/09/2019

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents cited three subjects for alleged oyster harvesting violations on Jan. 6 in Terrebonne Parish.

Agents cited Abelardo Carbajal, 55, Santa Carbajal, 50, and Spencer Calahan Jr., 25, all of Theriot, for taking oysters during a closed season on the Sister Lake Public Oyster Seed Reservation and taking oyster during illegal hours.

LDWF agents were on patrol when they observed a vessel in the Sister Lake Public Oyster Seed Reservation actively dredging for oysters around 11 p.m. on Jan. 6.

Agents stopped the vessel and found the three subjects in possession of 25 sacks of oysters.  Agents seized the oyster dredges and returned the oysters to the water.

The Sister Lake Public Oyster Seed Reservation is closed for the 2018/19 oyster season.

Taking oysters during a closed season brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Taking oysters during illegal hours carries a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.

Agents Cite Carencro Man for Deer Hunting Violations

Release Date: 01/09/2019

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited a Carencro man for alleged deer hunting violations on Dec. 21 in Lafayette Parish.

Agents cited Mark Benoit, 49, taking over the limit of deer, failing to comply with deer tagging requirements and intentional concealment of wildlife.

Agents received information that Benoit had possibly shot over his daily possession limit.  Agents then made contact with Benoit at his hunting lease on Schoeffler Road a few miles east of Carencro.

During the investigation, agents found that Benoit harvested one antlered and three antlerless deer that morning.  The daily limit for deer for this area on this day was one antlered and one antlerless deer putting Benoit two over the daily bag limit of antlerless deer.

Agents also found the antlered deer off a trail that Benoit attempted to conceal.  Agents seized the four deer.

Taking over the limit of deer brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail.  Failing to comply with deer tagging requirements brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.  Intentional concealment of wildlife brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days.

Benoit may also face civil restitution totaling up to $3,249 for replacement value for the illegally taken deer.

Krotz Springs Men and Juvenile Cited For Illegal Night Hunting Violations

Release Date: 01/08/2019

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement agents cited two Krotz Spring men and a juvenile on Jan. 1 for alleged deer hunting violations.

Agents cited Drake Martinez, 23, and Pervice Lalonde, 17, and a juvenile for taking deer during illegal hours, from a public road and from a moving vehicle.

On the night of Jan. 1, agents were on patrol in the Krotz Springs area when they found Martinez, Lalonde and the juvenile cleaning freshly harvested deer.

During the investigation, agents determined that Martinez, Lalonde and the juvenile harvested three does and a spike buck at night with a rifle from a public road near Indian Bayou in St. Landry Parish.

Agents seized the rifle and the four deer.

Hunting deer during illegal hours brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Hunting deer from a public road and taking deer from a moving vehicle each brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail for each offense.

The three subjects could also face up to $6,498 in civil restitution for the replacement value of the illegally taken deer.

Agents Cite Jonesboro Man for Over the Limit of Antlered Deer

Release Date: 01/08/2019

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited a Jonesboro man for alleged deer hunting violations on Dec. 9, 2018 in Jackson Parish.

Agents cited Michael Potts, 58, for over the seasonal limit of antlered deer and violating the deer tagging regulations.

Agents on patrol observed Potts unloading a freshly killed seven point buck at his residence.  Agents also observed multiple deer heads hanging on a fence at his residence.

During questioning, Potts admitted to harvesting three eight-point bucks, two seven-point bucks and one nine-point buck this season.  For this deer hunting area, hunters are allowed to take three antlered deer per season putting Potts three over the seasonal limit.

Possessing over the seasonal limit of antlered deer brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 60 days in jail.  Failing to comply with deer tagging requirements carries a $100 to $350 fine and up to 30 days in jail.

Potts may also face civil restitution totaling up to $4,873 for the replacement value of the illegal deer.

Port Barre Man Cited for Taking Spotted Fawn on WMA

Release Date: 01/04/2019

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) enforcement agents cited a Port Barre man for alleged deer hunting violations on Dec. 28.

Agents cited Zach Bellard, 25, of Port Barre, for violating Wildlife Management Area (WMA) rules and regulations and taking a spotted fawn.

Agents made contact with Bellard while checking deer hunters during the bucks only firearms season on the Sherburne WMA.

Agents found Bellard in possession of a spotted anterless deer, which was in violation of the bucks only season for the time.

Agents seized the spotted fawn.

Taking a spotted fawn brings a $500 to $750 fine and up to 30 days in jail.  Violating WMA rules and regulations brings a brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.

Bellard could also face civil restitution totaling $1,624 for the replacement value of the illegally taken deer.

Syndicate content