Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents arrested two subjects and cited another from Morehouse Parish for alleged night hunting activity on Jan. 25.
Agents cited Charles A. Brantley, 27, of Collinston, Cassandra Barnes, 32, of Bastrop, and Danielle Brantley, of Collinston, 21, for hunting deer during illegal hours with artificial light, hunting from a public road and hunting from a moving vehicle. Agents also cited Charles Brantley and Barnes for hunting rabbits during illegal hours. Charles Brantley was additionally cited for criminal trespass and failing to comply with deer tagging requirements.
As a result of recent high waters along the Mississippi River deer were heavily concentrated along Hwy. 596 near Lake Providence. Around midnight on Jan. 25, agents witnessed the trio drive back and forth along this rural stretch of highway shooting at deer and rabbits. Agents also observed them shoot a deer and drop one of the occupants off to search for the deer.
Upon stopping the vehicle agents discovered that Charles Brantley was operating his vehicle outfitted with high intensity aftermarket lighting with Danielle Brantley and Barnes as passengers. Agents found six freshly killed rabbits in the cargo area of the pickup.
After further investigation agents determined that Charles Brantley and his front seat passenger Cassandra Barnes were the ones shooting at deer and rabbits with Barnes the one responsible for killing the deer. Charles Brantley was also the one that was dropped off to search for the deer on private property.
Agents seized one .22 rifle with a scope mounted light, night vision equipment, six rabbits and one antlerless deer.
Agents arrested and booked Charles Brantley and Barnes into the East Carrol Parish Detention Center.
Hunting deer during illegal hours or with artificial light carries fines between $900 and $950 and up to 120 days in jail for each offense. Hunting from a moving vehicle carries a $250 to $500 fine and up to 60 days in jail. Failing to comply with deer tagging requirements and hunting from a public road each brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail for each offense. Criminal trespassing carries a $100 to $500 fine and up to 30 days in jail.
Civil restitution totaling $1,625 may also be imposed for the replacement value of the deer.
Agents involved in the case are Sgt. Wayne Parker and Lt. Scott Mathews.
For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or email@example.com.