Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents cited three Louisianans for alleged deer hunting violations on Jan. 24 in Tangipahoa Parish.
Agents cited Brandon McElveen, 27, of Mt. Hermon, Todd Sigrist, 47, of Kentwood, and Rainey Thibodeaux, 33, of Kentwood, for hunting without basic hunting and big game licenses, no possession of deer tags, taking deer using illegal methods, taking over the daily limit of deer and possession of illegally taken deer. McElveen and Sigrist were also cited for taking deer during illegal hours, hunting from a moving vehicle, hunting from a public road and taking over the yearly limit of deer.
Agents additionally cited McElveen for discharging a firearm from a public road. Sigrist was additionally cited for illegal possession of a firearm by a convicted felon, driving under suspension and possession of untagged deer. Thibodeaux was also cited for not wearing the required amount of hunters orange clothing.
Agents seized 11 deer and two rifles in the case.
From Jan. 13 to Jan. 23 agents received many public tips about night hunting activities taking place in the Kentwood Springs Creek area. After setting up surveillance in the area and investigating the complaints further, agents learned that it might be Sigrist who was night hunting.
Agents went to Sigrist’s residence on Jan. 24 and saw a freshly killed deer hanging from a tree in the yard in plain view. After talking to some family members, agents received permission to look around in the yard. After a brief search, agents found six ice chests with 10 deer quartered up inside. When Sigrist arrived home, agents questioned him about illegal night hunting activities in the area. Sigrist said he was present when the deer were taken illegally during the past 10 days by Thibodeaux and McElveen.
Thibodeaux admitted to taking her deer during legal shooting hours, but using a rifle below the required .22 caliber center fire requirement. McElveen also admitted to killing seven deer at night during illegal shooting hours from a public road. None of the subjects possessed deer tags, basic hunting or big game licenses.
Illegal possession of a firearm by a convicted felon carries a $1,000 to $5,000 fine and 10 to 20 years in jail. Driving while under suspension brings up to a $500 fine and six months in jail.
Taking deer during illegal hours carries a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Possession of illegally taken deer brings a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days of jail. Taking deer using illegal methods, taking over the daily and yearly limits of deer, possession of untagged deer and hunting from a moving vehicle each carries a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail. Not possessing deer tags, discharging a firearm from a public road and taking deer from a public road each brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail. Hunting without basic hunting and big game licenses and not wearing the required amount of hunters orange each brings a $50 fine and up to 15 days in jail.
The three subjects may also face up to $17,870 in civil restitution charges for the replacement value of the illegally taken deer.
Agents involved in the case are Lt. Cullen Sellers, Sgt. Toby Miller and Senior Agent Lee Davis.
For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or firstname.lastname@example.org.