Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement agents cited nine people for alleged turkey hunting violations during the opening weekend of the 2016 turkey hunting season. Turkey season opened on March 26 statewide.
On March 26 agents cited the following for hunting turkeys over a baited area:
Brian C. Whitlow, 31, of Rosedale, cited in West Feliciana Parish;
Bryan R. Mix, 36, of Greenwell Springs, cited in West Feliciana Parish;
Michael T. Campanella, 29, of Prairieville, cited in West Feliciana Parish;
Jared C. Browning, 36, of St. Francisville, cited in West Feliciana Parish;
William J. Anderson, 37, of Clinton, cited in East Feliciana Parish;
Kim Costello, 49, of Chalmette, cited in St. Helena Parish;
Jewel Armstrong Jr., 59, of Gilbert, cited in Jackson Parrish;
Seaborn R. Aycock, 73, of Flora, Miss., cited in Claiborne Parish.
Anderson was also cited for possession of an illegally taken turkey and failing to comply with turkey tagging regulations. Aycock was also cited for hunting without a non-resident turkey license and failing to possess turkey tags.
Agents also cited Robert Brown, 24, of Eldorado, Ark., on March 26 on the Bodcau Wildlife Management Area (WMA) in Bossier Parish for turkey hunting without non-resident basic, big game and turkey licenses and without a WMA hunting permit.
According to the 2016 Turkey Regulations no person shall hunt or take turkeys by the aid of baiting or on or over a baited area. Hunters are not allowed to place, expose, deposit or scatter corn, wheat or other grain, salt or other feed to lure turkeys to their hunting area.
Also, turkey hunters are required to possess Louisiana basic hunting and big game licenses, Louisiana wild turkey license and turkey tags.
Hunting turkeys over a baited area brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail. Possession of an illegally taken turkey during an open season carries a $500 to $750 fine and 15 to 30 days in jail. Failing to comply with turkey tagging regulations carries a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail. Not possessing nonresident basic, big game and turkey licenses, turkey tags and WMA permit each brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.
Anderson may also face up to $1,539 in civil restitution charges for the replacement value of the illegally taken turkey.
For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or email@example.com.