A Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agent cited two men for alleged alligator violations in Grant Parish on August 18.
Sgt. Chad Watts cited Samuel Daniels, 38, and Patrick Daniels, 43, both from Colfax, for taking alligators during a closed season and taking alligators without a license. LDWF agents are still searching for a third subject who is believed to be involved and is being sought for questioning.
Sgt. Watts began investigating the case after receiving information from detectives with the Grant Parish Sheriff’s Office and a Probation and Parole agent concerning possible alligator violations.
During the investigation 12 different alligator heads and carcasses that were recently harvested were discovered behind the subject’s residence. Inside the subject’s residence a large amount of alligator meat was discovered in two freezers.
Patrick Daniels and Samuel Daniels were interviewed and admitted to harvesting alligators in an oxbow off of the Red River on the Aug. 14 and 15. They said they snagged the gators using rods and reels equipped with treble hooks.
Taking alligators during a closed season carries a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Taking alligators without a license brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail. The men could also face civil restitution charges totaling $4,509.60 for the illegally taken alligators.
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents cited four people in Livingston and East Feliciana parishes for alleged deer hunting violations on Aug. 18.
LDWF agents cited Edward A. Slaven III, Edward A. Slaven IV, 22, and Donald J. Weaver, all of Denham Springs, and Maegan C. Chavers, 25, of Liberty, Miss., for Federal Lacey Act violations, not possessing deer tags, hunting from a public road and moving vehicle, hunting deer during a closed season and illegal hours, not possessing a big game license and possession of illegally taken deer out of season.
Slaven IV, Weaver and Chavers were also cited for not possessing a basic hunting license.
Agents were notified about two illegally taken deer by the Livingston Parish Sheriff’s Office (LPSO) around 11:45 p.m. on Aug. 18. The LPSO pulled the vehicle over for a moving violation on the intersection of Hwy 1024 and 16 in Watson. During the vehicle stop, the LPSO deputy noticed two deer in the back of the truck and called LDWF agents.
When agents arrived they learned from the subjects that they tried to hunt for deer in Livingston and East Feliciana parishes from the truck, but couldn’t find a deer. They then entered Mississippi and found two doe deers to shoot in Amite County. After harvesting the two deer, they transported the deer back into Louisiana, which is a Federal Lacey Act violation.
The four subjects also face wildlife charges in Mississippi. Agents seized the 2004 pickup truck, 12 gauge shotgun, .22 rifle, .357 pistol and two spotlights.
The Lacey Act violation brings up to a $10,000 fine and five years in jail. Hunting deer during a closed season, during illegal hours each brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Possession of an illegally taken deer carries a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Hunting from a moving vehicle brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail. Hunting from a public road and not possessing deer tags each carries up to a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail. Hunting without basic and big game licenses each brings up to a $50 fine and 15 days in jail.
Agents participating in the case are Lt. Will Roberts, Sgt. Randy Lanoux and Senior Agent Terry Hicks.
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents cited two men for alleged deer violations in Grant Parish on Aug. 11.
Agents cited Skyler Welch, 19, and Dillon County, 18, both from Montgomery, for hunting deer during a closed season, during illegal hours with artificial light, with an illegal weapon and without any hunting licenses or tags.
Agents investigated the case after receiving information from the Montgomery Chief of Police who found a dead deer in a pasture behind a home where he was investigating a report of a stolen gun.
Agents arrived on the scene and collected a nine-point buck. Agents then interviewed Welch and County who were implicated in the stolen gun report.
During the interviews both men admitted to seeing the deer around 12:30 a.m. on Aug. 11. They went to get a gun then drove around to find that the deer had moved from the field and into the woods.
Once the deer was spotted in the woods, Skyler shot and dropped the deer with a rimfire .22 magnum. He then ran to the deer and shot it again at close range.
The men dragged the deer to the open field where it was spotted the next day by the Chief of Police.
Hunting deer during a closed season and during illegal hours with artificial light each carries a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Taking deer with an illegal weapon carries a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail. Failing to possess deer tags brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail. Failing to possess a basic and big game license each brings up to a $50 fine and 15 days in jail. The two men could also face civil restitution charges totaling $2,033 for the illegally taken deer.
Agents participating in the case are Sgt. Byron Cammack, Sgt. Rusty Perry and Senior Agent Heath Wood.
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents cited three men for alleged closed season turkey violations on Aug. 16 in Bienville Parish.
Agents cited James Kearney, 29, of Ringgold, Daniel Hollis, 25, of Arcadia, and Michael Foster, 51, of Sibley, for hunting from a public road. Kearney was also cited for taking a turkey illegally during a closed season. Hollis and Foster were also cited for possession of an illegally taken turkey.
Responding to an anonymous tip, agents were able to make contact with Hollis and Foster at Hollis’ residence. Upon questioning, the two men admitted to be in a truck when Kearney shot a turkey from Pietsch Road near Ringgold on Aug. 15. The two men also told the agent that the turkey was in an ice chest in Hollis’ front yard.
Agents involved in the case are Bryant Coburn, Jared McIver and Mike Kelley.
Taking turkey during a closed season brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Possession of an illegally taken turkey carries a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Hunting from a public road brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.
The turkey season for Bienville Parish ended in late April of 2015 and won’t reopen until March 26 of 2016.
A Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agent arrested two people on Aug. 12 in Claiborne Parish for alleged drug violations.
Lt. Kenneth Balkom arrested Billy J. Camp, 37, of Homer, and Amanda L. Irby, 36, of Doyline, for possession of methamphetamines, marijuana, drug paraphernalia and a firearm while in possession of illegal drugs.
Lt. Balkom was on regular patrol around 5:30 p.m. when he spotted a pickup truck parked on the side of Flat Lick road. Upon approaching the vehicle he saw a woman walk fast towards the woods to throw something and then come back to the truck. When Lt. Balkom made contact with the two people he asked what Irby deposited in the woods and she admitted that it was a pistol.
Lt. Balkom then called Claiborne Parish Sheriff’s Office deputies for backup as he conducted a search of their vehicle. Lt. Balkom found marijuana in plain sight on the console inside the truck and also found methamphetamines and more marijuana during the search. He also found Camp in possession of a firearm.
Possession of methamphetamines carries up to a $5,000 fine and two to five years in jail. Possession of marijuana and drug paraphernalia each brings up to a $500 fine and six months in jail. Possession of a firearm while in possession of illegal drugs carries up to a $10,000 fine and between five and 10 years of prison.
He arrested the two and booked them into the Claiborne Parish Jail.
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement Division agents cited a commercial fisherman for alleged shrimping violations on Aug. 12 in Plaquemines Parish.
Agents patrolling in Black Bay observed a skimming vessel actively shrimping around 9:30 p.m. During the inspection, agents found approximately 23 pounds of shrimp on board the vessel.
Agents cited Michael J Daigle Jr, 28, of Slidell, for using skimmers during a closed shrimp season and seized the shrimp.
The inshore shrimp season is set to open on Aug. 17 at 6 a.m.
Using skimmers during a closed shrimp season brings a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.
In addition to any and all other penalties, for the first conviction of shrimping during the closed season, the court may revoke or suspend the violator's trawl, skimmer, and butterfly gear licenses for one year from the date of the conviction. During such revocation or suspension, the violator may be present on a vessel harvesting or possessing shrimp or possessing a trawl, skimmer, or butterfly net, only if the vessel is equipped with and employs an operating vessel monitoring system which is accessible to LDWF. The court shall also sentence the violator to perform 40 hours of community service.
Agents participating in the case are Lt. Scott Keller and Senior Agent Jason Gernados.
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents cited a Homer man on Aug. 12 for alleged deer hunting violations in Claiborne Parish.
Agents cited Canyon Roberson, 19, of Homer, for taking deer during a closed season, taking deer during illegal hours, discharging a firearm from a public road, and expired driver’s license.
Agents received a complaint from the Claiborne Parish Sheriff’s Office about a man shooting from Highway 2 near Homer. Agents stopped a vehicle that matched the description around 9:30 p.m. and discovered Roberson to be in possession of a freshly killed doe deer.
Taking deer during a closed season and taking deer during illegal hours brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Discharging a firearm from a public road brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail. Driving with an expired license will have any fines assigned by the parish if found guilty.
Roberson may also be responsible for a civil restitution amount of $1,624 for the illegally taken deer.
Agents participating in the case are Lt. Kenneth Balkom, Sgt. Mike Kelley, and Senior Agents Bryant Coburn and Jared McIver