Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited two men for alleged deer hunting violations on Sept. 25 in Pointe Coupee Parish.
Agents cited Ashton J. Prejean, 22, and James Scott 19, both of Fordoche, for taking deer during a closed season, taking deer during illegal hours with artificial light and possession of illegally taken deer.
Agents found Prejean and Scott in possession of an illegally taken four point buck. During the investigation agents learned that the deer was taken several nights prior to the investigation with a crossbow and spotlight at night in the vicinity of Fordoche.
Agents seized a crossbow, spotlight and the deer.
Taking deer during a closed season and during illegal hours with artificial light each brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail for each offense. Possession of an illegally taken deer carries a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Prejean and Scott could face civil restitution for the illegally taken deer totaling $1624.61.
Agents participating in the case are Senior Agents Channing Duvall and Tyler Smith.
LDWF Information and Season Hotline - 1-800-256-2749
The LDWF Information and Season Hotline is available 24 hours a day by simply calling 1-800-256-2749. The hotline provides the most-up-to-date information on season dates and regulations. After calling the hotline, callers will follow prompts to access the information they are seeking.
Hunting and fishing dates will be available through the hotline for the following seasons: shrimp, oysters, deer, squirrel, rabbit, migratory game birds, turkey, quail, recreational finfish and commercial finfish.
The hotline also will feature boating safety, wildlife management area and hunter safety information, as well as contact information for regional LDWF offices.
The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) is now offering a new way to anonymously report outdoor related violations to Enforcement Division agents. LDWF's tip411 program is a part of their Operation Game Thief program, which may offer a cash reward for information leading to arrests or convictions.
To use the tip411 program, citizens can text LADWF and their tip to 847411 or download the "LADWF Tips" iPhone app from the Apple iTunes store free of charge. CitizenObserver, the tip411 provider, uses technology that removes all identifying information before LDWF receives the text so that LDWF cannot identify the sender.
Texting or downloading the app enables the public to send anonymous tips to LDWF and lets LDWF respond back, creating a two-way anonymous “chat”. Users of the app or texters can also send in photos to help support their claim and be used as evidence.
LDWF will monitor the tip411 program for incoming tips 24 hours a day.
LDWF also offers their Operation Game Thief 24 hour toll free hotline. Citizens can anonymously report tips by calling 1-800-442-2511 24 hours a day.
CitizenObserver was founded in 2000 and provides web based alerting tools to law enforcement, education and public safety agencies in over 40 states.
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents arrested a Port Sulphur man for alleged commercial oyster violations on Sept. 19.
Agents arrested Nelson C. Williams III, 41, of Port Sulphur, for taking oysters from an unapproved area, taking oysters during illegal hours, unlawfully taking oyster from unleased state water bottoms, and violation of the state’s sanitation code for refrigeration.
Agents received a tip about Williams illegally harvesting oysters from an unapproved area and from unleased state water bottoms on April 22 around 1 a.m. Agents arrived on scene and found Williams' vessel already at the Hi-Ridge Marina with 30 sacks of oysters on the vessel.
LDWF agents found a cell phone on the vessel and after obtaining a warrant had a forensic download performed where evidence was found linking Williams’ vessel to unapproved areas and unleased state water bottoms in the Grand Bayou area.
This is Williams’s third offense for taking polluted oysters from waters closed by Department of Health and Hospitals, which can carry up to a $950 fine and 120 days in jail. Williams may also be have his oyster harvester license revoked for 10 years from the date of the third conviction, which would make him unable to be present on a vessel harvesting or processing oysters.
The penalty for taking oysters during illegal hours, from unleased state water bottoms, and violation of the state’s sanitation code for refrigeration each carries up to a $950 fine and 120 day in jail for each offense.
Agents participating in the case are Lt. Adam Young, Senior Agent Travis Bartlett and Agent Blaine Wagner.
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries agents arrested a Denham Springs man on Sept. 18 for alleged illegal alligator hunting violations.
Agents arrested David Caveretta, 42, for not abiding by alligator hunting rules and regulations, not abiding by Wildlife Management Area (WMA) regulations, taking alligators from unapproved areas, possession of illegally taken alligators, improperly tagging alligators, criminal trespassing and obstruction of justice.
Acting on a public tip, agents began a month long investigation into Caveretta’s alligator hunting guide service. During the investigation agents determined that Caveretta was conducting an illegal hunting guide service on the Joyce WMA in Tangipahoa Parish. It is illegal to conduct guided hunts for money on public lands.
Agents also determined that Caveretta was placing alligator lines and capturing alligators on private lands in Tangipahoa Parish without landowners permission. He also did not have the proper LDWF licenses to capture alligators in those areas.
During questioning, Caveretta attempted to mislead agents about these illegal alligator hunting activities. Agents seized two alligators connected to the case.
Not abiding by alligator hunting regulations, taking alligators from unapproved areas, possession of illegally taken alligators and improperly tagging alligators each bring a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail for each offense. Not abiding by WMA regulations brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.
Criminal trespass carries up to a $1,000 fine and up to 30 days in jail. Obstruction of justice brings up to a $10,000 fine and five years in prison.