Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents issued 101 dove hunting related citations during the opening weekend of dove season on Sept. 6 and 7 statewide.
Of the 101 total citations, 55 were for hunting doves over a baited area. Most of the other charges were for hunting with an unplugged gun, hunting without a basic hunting license, placing bait, hunting from a moving vehicle, and taking non-game birds.
A large portion of the hunting doves over a baited area took place in Franklin Parish where agents found 28 people hunting over bait. Other places that agents found numerous people hunting over bait included Avoyelles Parish with five people, Tensas Parish with four people, Claiborne with four people, Washington Parish with four people, Beauregard Parish with two people, Rapides Parish with two people and St. John Parish with two people.
Agents also seized over 300 doves associated with the citations.
Dove season began on Sept. 6 with a daily bag limit of 15 doves and possession limit of 45 doves. However, there is no bag limit on Eurasian collared-doves or ringed turtle-doves provided that a fully feathered wing and head remain attached to the carcass of the bird. Fully dressed Eurasian-collared doves and ringed-turtle doves (those without a fully feathered wing and head naturally attached to the carcass) shall be included in the aggregate bag. Please check the LDWF dove hunting web page found at www.wlf.louisiana.gov/hunting/dove for more information.
Hunting over a baited field for doves, placing bait, and taking non-game birds each brings a state penalty of $400 to $950 in fines and up to 120 days in jail. Hunting with unplugged guns and from a moving vehicle each brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail. Hunting without a basic hunting license brings up to a $50 fine and 15 days in jail.
For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or email@example.com.