The Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission passed a notice of intent at their Sept. 7 meeting soliciting comments on proposed signage requirements for no wake zones adjacent to public boat launch facilities.
Act 675, passed during the 2006 legislative session, established no wake zones within 300 feet in all directions from any boat launch or docking facility adjacent to the boat launch that is open to the general public. If approved, commission rules would require that uniformly distinct signs be posted.
The signs would be 3 feet by 3 feet squares with a white background and a 2-inch reflective orange border along each edge with a center circle that includes the word SLOW at the top, NO WAKE in the middle and ZONE at the bottom. The words would be black and at least 5 inches high.
Local and parish authorities in their respective jurisdictions will be responsible for placement and maintenance of the no wake signs. The end of the no wake zone may be designated on the rear of the sign indicating, "END NO WAKE ZONE." Signs may also indicate the established distance of a no wake zone.
Regulatory buoys visible no less than 30 inches high above the water line placed in safe and visible locations may be used to identify start and end points of no wake zones. A violation of a properly marked no wake zone would constitute a class one violation.
Public comment can be submitted to Col. Winton Vidrine, Law Enforcement Division, Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, PO Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000, prior to Thursday, Nov. 2, 2006.
For more information, contact Lt. Col. Brian Spillman at 225-765-2981 or firstname.lastname@example.org.