L.O.W.A. Recognizes Excellence in Outdoor Communications

Release Date: 08/10/2010

Eleven Louisiana Outdoor Writers Association (LOWA) members were recognized for their contributions during LOWA?s 65th annual conference Aug. 6-7 in Covington. The honorees were selected for awards in the organization?s 2010 Excellence in Craft (EIC) competition.

The EIC contest, which recognizes excellence under eight categories of outdoor-related communication, has been held continuously since 1945. To ensure objectivity, all entries were judged through an external and anonymous review process involving Southeastern Outdoor Press Association members.
LOWA has both active and supporting members. Active membership is qualified by productivity in outdoor communication. Active membership includes newspaper and magazine writers, editors, columnists, photographers, radio and television broadcast journalists, wildlife artists, internet journalists, book authors, videographers, lecturers, and public relations specialists.
The winners and sponsors of the 2010 EIC contest are listed below. For more detailed information about the competition or LOWA, visit www.laoutdoorwriters.com

2010 Excellence in Craft Winners and Sponsors

Magazine Short Feature (less than 1000 words)
1st Paula Ouder; 2nd Deborah Burst; 3rd Wendy Billiot
Co-Sponsors: Louisiana Forestry Association and Louisiana Association of Professional Biologists

Magazine Regular Feature (more than 1,000 words)
1st John Flores; 2nd Terry L. Jones; 3rd Jerald Horst
Co-Sponsors: Louisiana Charter Boat Association and Coastal Conservation Association of Louisiana

Newspaper Article
1st Glynn Harris; 2nd Lyle Johnson; 3rd John Flores
Co-Sponsors: Lake Charles-Southwest Louisiana Convention & Visitors Bureau
and Louisiana Forestry Association

Broadcast (radio or television)
1st Glynn Harris; 2nd Glynn Harris; 3rd James Guice and Lyle Johnson
Sponsors: Louisiana Charter Boat Association, Coastal Conservation Association of Louisiana and National Wild Turkey Federation

Electronic Media
1st Wendy Billiot; 2nd Glynn Harris; 3rd Don Dubuc
Co-Sponsors: Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Foundation; and Coastal Wetland Planning, Protection and Restoration Act Outreach Committee

Black and White Still Photograph
1st John Flores; 2nd John Flores; 3rd Jerald Horst
Sponsor: National Wild Turkey Federation

Color Still Photograph
1st Butch Thurmond; 2nd Butch Thurmond; 3rd Jerald Horst
Sponsor: Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Foundation

Topical Article on Coastal Wetland Protection/Restoration (more than 750 words)
1st Wendy Billiot; 2nd Paula Ouder; 3rd Lyle Johnson
Sponsor: Coastal Wetland Planning, Protection and Restoration Act Outreach Committee

For more information, contact Chris Holmes at 504-495-8189 or cholmes@att.net

2010- 239