Two Louisiana Men Cited for Hunting Violations

Release Date: 01/28/2013

01/28/2013 -- A Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agent cited two Louisiana men for alleged hunting violations on Jan. 21 in Concordia Parish.

The agent cited Michael D. Burley, 46, of Monterey, and Duell S. Moreland, 22, of Jonesville, for hunting without resident, primitive weapons and big game licenses, failing to comply with deer harvest requirements, failing to wear hunters orange and hunting deer using illegal methods.  Burley was subsequently arrested for illegal possession of marijuana and possession of a firearm while in possession of marijuana and booked into the Concordia Parish Jail.

Sgt. Trey Mason setup surveillance in the evening of Jan. 21 on a vehicle parked on side of Bodark Road in Monterey.  Sgt. Mason then observed two subjects walking in the direction of his vehicle.

After making contact with the two subjects, Sgt. Mason observed Moreland carrying a Browning A-Bolt 7mm Magnum Rifle and Burley carrying a .444 primitive weapon with a laser light mounted on the gun.

Modern firearm season for this area closed on Jan. 20 and the only season open is for primitive firearms and archery.  After confirming that both subjects were actively deer hunting, a license compliance check was performed.  Neither subject was in possession of a valid hunting license, deer tags or hunters orange.

Sgt. Mason also performed a pat down search of Burley and found him in possession of synthetic marijuana.

Taking deer using illegal methods brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail.  Failing to comply with deer harvest requirement carries a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.  Hunting without resident, primitive and big game licenses and failing to wear hunters orange each carries a $50 fine and up to 15 days in jail for each offense.

Possession of a firearm while in possession of marijuana brings a $1,000 to $5,000 fine and 10 to 20 years in jail.  Possession of marijuana brings a fine up to $500 and up to six months in jail.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or