Louisiana Saltwater Series Announces Top Ten Team of the Year Anglers for the 2013 Redfish Series

Release Date: 08/21/2013

From left to right: John Garrison and Steve Smith, 2013 LASS Redfish Series Team of the Year winners

(Aug.  21, 2013) – Please join the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Foundation in congratulating the top ten Team of the Year anglers for the 2013 Louisiana Saltwater Series Redfish Series.  The competition was very close throughout the year, and the final standings came down to the wire at the final tournament of the year, held last weekend at the Delta Marina in Empire.

The 2013 top ten teams are as follows:

Team                                                                                  Place                          Payout
Steve Smith & John Garrison                                                  1st                              $3,000
Nash Roberts, IV & Luke Landry                                             2nd                             $1,500
Jacob Leininger & Jeff Rogers                                                 3rd                             $950
Joe Barcelona & John Barcelona                                             4th                             $800
Tony Grose & Sal Fontana                                                       5th                             $750
Matthew Whitman & Ryan Schellhaas                                     6th                             $700
Michael McElveen & Rob Folsom                                             7th                             $650
Gary Wilson & Gus Wilson                                                       8th                            $600
Brandon Treadaway & Ryan Dolese/ Kevin Bergeron              9th                            $550
Charlie Howell & Hunter Howell/ Benjamin Behel                     10th                          $500

In order for teams to be considered for the Team of the Year top ten standings, they must have registered for all six of the redfish series events.  Points are awarded to teams depending on their placing during each regular season event.  Points from each team’s best five finishes are calculated to count toward the Team of the Year standings, which allows each team to drop their lowest score.

“My sincere congratulations to the Team of the Year anglers and all of our LASS anglers for another successful year, as they are the key to success of this tournament series,” said LDWF Assistant Secretary Randy Pausina.  “The information the Department gathers from citizen scientists is truly invaluable.”

Cash payouts for the Team of the Year top ten are generated solely from sponsorship support including Shimano, PowerPro, Coors Light, Academy Sports and Outdoors, Daybrook Fisheries, Omega Protein, Plaquemines Parish Tourism, Dockside Marine, Mercury, Conservation Force, Standard Mapping, Marsh and Bayou, Faux Pas Prints, Swamp Swatter, Frabill, Stick It Anchor Pins and YETI Coolers. 

The next scheduled LASS event is our inaugural tarpon tournament scheduled for August 24 and 25 in Venice at Venice Marina.  The Redfish Series Championship will be held on October 18 and 19 at Venice Marina, and the public is invited to attend and find out which team will take home the 2013 title.  Our next LASS youth event is scheduled for November 2 at Myrtle Grove Marina.  For complete information, including rules, regulations and registration, visit www.lasaltwaterseries.com.

The Louisiana Saltwater Series is hosted in conjunction with the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Foundation.  The Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Foundation was formed to provide a means for individuals and corporations to become partners with the Department and Commission in the challenge of conserving Louisiana’s wildlife and fish resources.

The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries is charged with managing and protecting Louisiana’s abundant natural resources.  For more information, visit us at www.wlf.louisiana.gov or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ldwffb or follow us on Twitter @LDWF.

For press inquiries, contact Ashley Wethey at awethey@wlf.la.gov or (225) 765-2396.