A Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement Division agent cited two Louisiana men for alleged alligator violations on April 29 in Ascension Parish.
The agent cited Jason T. Causey, 23, of Gonzales, and Shane H. Knapp, 23, of Baton Rouge, for taking alligators during a closed season, hunting alligators at night with a firearm, illegal possession of alligators, taking alligators without a license, unauthorized use of a moveable, violating frog regulations for possessing a firearm, taking a bullfrog during a closed season and fishing without a basic fishing license.
After receiving an anonymous complaint of illegal activity at Alligator Bayou Tours, LDWF Sgt. Dennis Bueche and Ascension Parish Sheriff’s Office (APSO) deputies arrived on scene around 12:10 a.m. on April 29. Once on scene they heard an all-terrain vehicle (ATV), gunshots and saw a spotlight inside the Alligator Bayou Tours property.
After a brief search, the deputies and LDWF agent were able to contact Causey and Knapp and found them in possession of an illegally harvested 10 foot alligator that had been shot in the head with a .45 caliber pistol that was also in their possession. After further investigation, it was determined that the ATV belonged to Alligator Bayou Tours and that Knapp and Causey were using the ATV to attempt to drag the alligator back to their truck.
Knapp and Causey were also found with a dead bullfrog and allegedly admitted to fishing earlier in the evening without basic fishing licenses.
The APSO charged Knapp and Causey with trespassing, illegal use of a firearm and criminal damage to private property. LDWF seized the .45 caliber pistol. The APSO impounded their truck and booked Knapp and Causey into the Ascension Parish Jail.
Hunting alligators during a closed season, hunting alligators at night with a firearm and illegal possession of an alligator each brings up to a $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail for each offense. Taking alligators without a license, violating frog regulations and taking a bullfrog during a closed season each carries up to a $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail. Fishing without a basic fishing license brings a $50 fine and up to 15 days in jail.
Unauthorized use of a moveable carries up to a $5,000 fine and up to five years in jail.
For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or firstname.lastname@example.org .