In the months after the devastating landfalls of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, several law enforcement agencies across the state of Louisiana realized a vital need to train officers in all aspects of search and rescue, especially maritime search and rescue. The LDWF/LED, being the primary search and rescue agency in the state and having several decades of experience in both maritime enforcement patrol and maritime search and rescue, received several requests from law enforcement agencies to provide maritime search and rescue training to their officers. As a result of these requests, the Department designed and implemented the 40 hour Maritime Search and Rescue Course (MSARC, a Louisiana P.O.S.T. Council approved course designed to train other law enforcement officers in such areas as maritime search and rescue, Louisiana Emergency Operation Plans (ESF-9 SAR), navigation rules, vessel handling, waterborne arrest techniques and more.
ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS FOR MSARC
Any officer wishing to attend MSARC must meet the following minimum requirements to be eligible to attend:
1. All persons attending must possess a current certification from P.O.S.T. as a basic law enforcement peace officer.
2. All persons attending must have successfully completed a United States Coast Guard or National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) approved boating education course and provide proof of such. If you have not completed a course, information on attending a free LDWF Boat Louisiana course can be found at: http://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/boating/courses/ 
EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR MSARC
Agencies will provide their own vessels, trailers, vessel equipment, oil, gas, etc. to utilize in training. Agencies should consider the types of vessel they will be utilizing in a search and rescue event when determining which vessels to bring to the course. (i.e. if your agency anticipates mostly shallow water rescue events it is recommended that you provide shallow bottom vessels for the training.)BEFORE ATTENDING THE COURSE, a list of vessels that the attendees will be using must be submitted to the LDWF/LED for approval.
Personal Flotation Devices
Participants must have a type I, II, or III personal flotation device. Inflatable devices are allowed as long as they are used in accordance with USCG labeling requirements and your agency permits their use. PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICES WILL BE WORN AT ALL TIMES WHILE IN THE VESSEL.
Participants must have G.P.S. A Garmin brand device is preferred, but any brand unit will do.
Participants should have either a hand-held VHF radio or have vessels equipped with a VHF radio.
Participants should bring Class "B" or "BDU's" as uniforms for the course.
COURSE LOCATION, DATES, DIRECTIONS, AND HOTELS
Location of Course
2000 Quail Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
**Spots are filled on first come, first served basis.
Participants will be required to make their own housing and food arrangements for their stay.
COURSE COSTS AND APPLICATION
The registration fee is $250.00 payable by check only. Check must be included when submitting application. Checks should be made payable to the: Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. To pay for multiple attendees from the same agency, please call 225-765-2980.
Please forward all applications to the following address:
Attn: Julie Campbell
P. O. Box 98000
Baton Rouge, LA 70898
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org 
Invoices are available upon request.